Not that noble after all………..

February 19, 2010 at 8:29 PM 1 comment

The entire day passed quite well as the mood in the air was quite good for a little relaxing and music after two months of busy projects and assignment. Some of my friends and I went out to have some light chomp-chomp in the mall and buy some T-shirt and shoes My friends insisted me to join for another movie but I was already done for the day watching three movies Back2Back.

On my way back as usual the power was out in my residential area so my lonely walk was accompanied by a ghostly silence in a pitch dark night. Anyway as I passed through an under construction flat some five hundreds meters away from home. I could hear some sound from a nearby distance, the sound seemed as though someone was crying in pain, but because of absence of anything in sight and distance that sound didn’t make any sense.

Out of curiosity I went towards the direction of the sound which took me to the rear side of that under construction apartment.  Nearing the other side of the apartment transported me to another world all together I can say. It was a crowd of construction laborers who were busy with their evening chores after the laborious day, none of them seem to notice my presence, perhaps the dark night also added as a cover for my investigation. 

As I roamed around the entire site with unquestioned curiosity and fascination on the life of these individuals, I was again distracted by the same sound which had brought me to this scene in the first place. I quickly gathered my pace and started walking towards the direction of that nonsense “sound” which had already started making some sense. From a distance I could see a small boy being repeatedly beaten up by a lady, who I suppose was his mother.

Though the entire scene was dark, but the place where the boy was beaten up was lit with fire cinder. So I could safely approximate that the age of the boy was between 3 to 4 years old.

A crowd of people had also gathered to see this drama, while I never actually came to know why the boy was being punished for? Some elders were justifying that the boy was being rightly disciplined for his deeds; there were others who were trying to stop the lady for acting so violently against that little life. 

While some may define an act of violence against the small child as a domestic violence, some other may sing the tune of “Spare the rod, spoil the child” for covering their guilt of the act.

Thought the entire incident lasted for not more than 15 minutes, it has lasted in my mind long enough that I had to narrate the incident by its detail. To a great extent even I am also responsible for the plight of the boys as I neither did nor say anything during the incident.

I was standing there just like rest of the idiots perhaps worried about my social status, while ignoring my social responsibility watching the show of human rights the violation. Though I have gobbled almost all the pages on human rights, the laws and its violation. I terribly regret for acting like helpless common man. 

I still remember the young toddler was screeching unable to bear the pain and yet all the while he could utter only one word repeatedly “AMMA” means “MOTHER” in English. Standing 10 meters from the place of incident I am not sure whether the boy had whip marks on his legs from that tree stem which was used to hit him. But I am sure that I saw that the kid’s eyes were filled with tears while repeatedly calling for his “AMMA”.

But my actions were “NOT NOBLE AFTER ALL “

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So its time for Valentines………. Why ban any organization???

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Parvinder singh  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:04 PM

    IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO REALIZE THE WRONG IN YOU. PERHAPS IT HAS BECOME A PART OF HUMAN NATURE…..
    IT IS GOOD THAT YOU REGRET FOR NOT DOING ANYTHING AT THE SITE OF THE INCIDENT BUT MY EXPECTATIONS ARE ALWAYS QUITE HIGH WHEN IT COMES TO YOU AND YOUR ACTIONS…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitor Count

  • 93,595 hits

Recent Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives

Feeds

Join 3 other followers


