Chandu’s Chinese Dhaba

September 24, 2009 at 9:25 PM 4 comments

From the past two weeks I have been going places, some time sessions or inauguration of a radio centre or sometime just nowhere, however today I had a invite of a different kind. Early morning 7.00AM, Chandu my old friend who owns a CHINESE DHABA by the roadside of Kapikad called me up. I was in a sleepy mood because yesterday night I was watching the movie “Wanted” with my roommates till 01.00AM.

 

DSC_1080I had not been Chandu’s for about three months or something, so I quite surprised to receive his call(Chandu had my number for home delivery of parcels but had never called me till now) so I was still wondering the reason.

 

He told me “Good Morning Harsha sir, I have brought a new tempo and stopped using the old push cart, so please make it for the inauguration today evening”.  

 

phoneI was drowsy but still I was so happy to hear from Chandu, I mean this guy has been working in this area for about 4 years and I was one of his first customers when he started his push cart noodles called “Chinese Dhaba”. I had been a regular visitor to his Dhaaba ever since. It’s not because of the acquaintanceship that I used to visit his place but because of the quality of food he used to prepare. Moreover the price was quite cheap, so when I and my friends were “broke” this was a very was our only fate.

 

DSC_1089Around 7.00pm I visited to his shop (these dhaba’s usually opened up late in the evening to midnight) there he stood the proud owner by his new mini-tempo. The tempo was altered to suit the catering requirement. I was so happy with his success that I embraced him as I entered.

 

I mean this guy had worked all his way up to get till here, so he deserved this moment of glory.  Making money was one thing for this budding entrepreneur but at the same time he involved himself likeDSC_1084 a professional cook, he even used to share some of his kitchen tips with his loyal customers like me. All these flashbacks made me proud of knowing this guy.

 

His menu was full of variety like soups, Chicken shezwans, veg-sizzlers, noodles and fried rice, chicken garlic, chicken kebab and also Gobi stuffing’s.

 

Anyway for this occasion he served me a bowl of noodle along with different type of curry samples, wow this was really a filling treat. I was quite surprised that Chandu kept his inaugural so fancy, but knowing his public relation I am not surprised to know that had so many devoted customers.

 

DSC_1098I also had a great time listening to the story of this guy who prior starting up his business in Mangalore worked for 12 years in Mumbai. On this particular day he kept the dhaba opened only for 2 hours and only for invitees only.

 

By the time I finished my Chinese diner it was almost 8.30 at night, I congratulated Chandu again before I finally left.  It’s was almost like witnessing the making of a next Dhirubai ambani.

As for me within next 15 minutes I will be reaching PG.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Radio Sarang+His excellency+MCMScians Alls well that ends well….. The Kheer Solution

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Arjun  |  October 4, 2009 at 10:06 PM

    wow nice one :)!

  • 2. Sudeep Shenoy  |  May 7, 2010 at 6:12 PM

    Hey do you live somewhere neearby here ? Coz Chandu is my friend too 🙂 been wid him since the very beginning when he used to be stationed at Kapikad…

    Honest and Efficient guy 🙂 yeah he’s gone through a lot of hardships in life, but he’s really hard working and thats what makes the difference 🙂

  • 3. harsharajgatty  |  May 7, 2010 at 6:41 PM

    No dude… I stay quite far….but make it a point to drop to his place whenever I visit Big bazaar…..

  • 4. Sudeep Shenoy  |  May 8, 2010 at 10:06 AM

    Oh ok… Like that… 🙂 BTW do you know he’s got a permanent shop now ? He’s named it Chandu’s Chinese corner. Its opp. to the Karnataka Bank Hall near Baliga Stores 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitor Count

  • 93,923 hits

Recent Posts

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Feeds

Join 3 other followers


